Who owns the rights to the muppets?

The character rights are split. The characters specifically known as The Muppets have been owned by Disney since 2004, the Sesame Street characters have been owned by Sesame Workshop (formerly Children's Television Workshop) since 2001, and Fraggle Rock is still owned by the Jim Henson Company.