What's the difference between a beer and an ale?

The difference between beer and ale has to do with the way in which it is brewed, and how the yeast ferments. Before hops became widespread in Europe, ale was a beer created without the use of hops, while lager(or beer) combined hops with the other ingredients.

---

The major difference between types of beer comes down to the type of yeast used to ferment it. A beer can qualify as either a lager or an ale, depending on the fermenting process.