How long has north korea been a country?

Formally known as the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, or DPRK, it was founded in 1948 when the United States and the Soviet Union divided control of the peninsula after World War II. The Democratic People's Republic of Korea was established in the North on 9 September 1948.