What are staunton chess pieces?

Staunton chess pieces are the standard style of chess pieces used in competitions. It is named after a chess master Howard Staunton, who endorsed a design created by Nathanial Cooke, and first made available by Jaques of London in 1849. Staunton pieces are typically made of wood or plastic.

---

The Staunton chess pieces are a particular piece design named after leading English chess master Howard Staunton. Introduced in 1849 and is considered the standard chess piece design.