Who are the shiites?

The Shiites, or Shia Muslims, are a denomination of the Islamic faith founded after the death of Muhammad. Shia Muslims acknowledge Ali ibn Abi Talib as the designated successor to Muhammad, unlike Sunni Muslims who acknowledge Abu Bakr as Muhammad's successor