Is the sun getting bigger?

Yes, our sun is expanding and it is getting brighter. Our sun consumes hydrogen and helium. It is why it burns yellow to orange. As the years go on and the core energy source is used the sun expands. Eventually, the sun will burn out in about 5 billion years or so.