Where does laughing come from?

Laughter can arise from activities like being tickled, from humorous stories or thoughts. Usually it is a visual expression of a number of positive emotional states, like joy, mirth, happiness, relief. Sometimes, it may be caused by contrary emotional states like embarrassment, apology, confusion.