How many shots are there in a fifth of whiskey?

There are 16 shots in a fifth, or 750 milliliter bottle, of whiskey. It may also serve well to know that a commonly recommended consumption limit for a shot, or 1.5 fl oz of liquor, is 1 for women and 2 for men; and that having 4 or more standard drinks within an hour is considered binge drinking.