Why is randy travis in a wheelchair?

His condition was classified as critical. Three days later, Travis suffered a massive stroke and had surgery to relieve pressure on his brain. ... Following his stroke, and despite therapy, Travis was unable to sing or speak and had to rely on a cane to walk for more than a year.