What's the difference between a viper and a snake?

All vipers are snakes, but not all snakes are vipers. A snake is a legless reptile in sub-order serpentes with a long, thin body & a fork-shaped tongue while a viper is a poisonous snake in Family viperidae. A viper has a stocky body, a wide head, and long, hinged fangs at the front of its mouth.