Why did they call pizza pizza?

Many people assume that the word "pizza" originated in Naples. But new analysis indicates that the word came from a smaller village further north in Italy. ... The pizza with tomato and mozzarella was named in honour to the Queen of Italy during a visit to Naples in 1889.