Does whole bean coffee go bad?

Whole bean coffee does not spoil like bread but will loose its flavor over a few weeks. Oily beans can get rancid and will smell bad throw them out.. To lengthen the useable life of whole coffee beans store them in an airtight container. You can also freeze them. Vacuum sealing is best.