How do you take care of an amaryllis after it blooms?

Remove spent flower stalks. Water and feed it, providing plenty of sun. Keep it moist but not wet. In late summer, stop the water. As it dries out, cut off the leaves and move to a dark dry place. In late Fall, bring it back into the light, and give it water as needed. The bloom cycle starts over.