Are pugs color blind?

Dogs' eyes only have two cones. This means that not only can they not perceive the colors red or green, but they can't perceive shades containing either of those colors, such as pink, purple, and orange. Dogs like a pug are also unable to perceive subtle changes in a color's brightness or shade.