Are squirrels nocturnal?

No. According to researchgate.net which publishes many studies of squirrels, they're crepuscular, meaning they become most active during the twilight hours of morning and evening, particularly in warm climates. However some are diurnal, or active during the day.

---

Most species of ground and tree squirrels are diunral or crepuscular, that is active during the day or at twilight. Flying squirrels tend to be nocturnal.

---

Activity patterns vary with the type of squirrel and the time of year, but generally tree and ground squirrels are not nocturnal and are active during the day.