What is the secret intelligence service?

The Secret Intelligence Service, also known as MI6 (Military Intelligence, Section 6), is the foreign intelligence agency of the United Kingdom. Its primary role is to gather intelligence from outside the UK in order to protect national security and support the country's foreign policy objectives.