Who is on the 3 dollar bill?

While a few believe in its existence, there has never been a US $3 bill — hence the expression “as phony as a $3 bill”. A few private banks printed their own currency before 1850 with one $3 bill featuring Santa Claus on his sleigh. Also, the US Mint produced a $3 gold coin from 1854-1889