What's a great wolf?

It's a large, broad-headed, wide-muzzled wolf that has a dense, heavy coat of usually light brown or brownish gray, speckled with black above & white below & that was formerly widely distributed throughout North America & Eurasia but is now greatly restricted to the more northerly parts of its range