What is emery college?

Emory University is a private university in Atlanta, Georgia. The university was founded as Emory College in 1836 in Oxford, Georgia, by the Methodist Episcopal Church and named in honor of bishop John Emory. Today Emory College refers to the liberal arts institution within Emory University.