What is a wet erase marker?

Wet erase markers contain water-soluble dyes and are intended for acetate, film or non-porous laminated surfaces. Wet erase markers can only be removed with a damp tissue or cloth. Dry erase markers erase with an eraser on most non-porous materials, like whiteboards, porcelain, melamine and glass.