How long do you cook the dumplings in chicken and dumplings?

The dumplings are cooked by dropping the dough into the simmering soup. Cover and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes. Cooking time may vary depending on the size of your dumplings. Test one dumpling for doneness. Continue cooking for another 5-10 minutes if required.