What is a token tree creature?

J.R.R. Tolkien's tree creatures in the Lord of the Rings were called Ents (spelled e n t s). The name comes from Old English meaning giant. The Ent leader, Treebeard of Fangorn Forest, was one of the oldest, if not oldest, living creature in Middle Earth.