Who is head of africa before nelson mandela?

Nelson Mandela was NEVER the head of Africa. He was the first president of SOUTH AFRICA, from 1994-1999. He was preceded by F. W. deKlerk as a state president--but that was before South Africa became an independent democratic nation on its own.