Is j. c. penney's filing bankruptcy?

5-15-2020 JCPenney filed for Chapter 11 in US Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas. 9-9-2020, Brookfield Property Partners & Simon Property Group agreed to purchase JCPenney for about $800million including $300million cash & assuming $500million of debt. Court approved 11-10-2020.