Who had the first mardi gras?

Literally translated from French, Mardi Gras means Fat Tuesday and the celebration goes back to Medieval Times. It was added to the Gregorian Calendar in 1582 by Pope Gregory XIII. The 1st Mardi Gras Celebration in North America took place in 1699 but the 1st in New Orleans took place in 1837.