What's the difference between a bachelorette party and a bridal shower?

A bridal shower is a party given for a bride, with the intention of showering the bride with gifts she will need to start up a new household. ... A bachelorette party is the female equivalent of a bachelor party, supposedly the last time out drinking and partying with “the girls,” as single women.