How do you grow mustard?

Plant the mustard seed about three weeks before last frost date. Since you'll be harvesting the mustard seed, there's no need to use succession planting. Plant your mustard seeds about an inch apart. Once they sprout, thin the seedlings so that they are 6 inches apart.