How many cards do you get when you play phase ten?

The dealer shuffles the deck and deals 10 cards, face down, to each player. Players hold their 10 cards in hand so that the other players cannot see them. The remaining deck is placed face-down in the center of the play area to become the draw pile. A wild card turned up goes to the next player.