Why is noon called noon?

Noon takes a path through Middle and Old English, where nōn denoted the ninth hour from sunrise. That word derives from the Latin nonus, meaning “ninth,” related to novem, the word for the number nine. That time known as noon eventually settled on the time when the sun was in the middle of the sky.