How long does it take to get a passport in the mail?

The expected time to get a US passport in the mail is currently 4 to 6 weeks, though in peak periods it can be 6 to 8 weeks. In the past processing time has been up to 12 weeks. The expected time for expedited processing is 2 to 3 weeks, but there are no guarantees.