Why do cats pupils get bigger?

If your cat has normal vision, there are various reasons why the pupils could be dilated including: low ambient light in the room and a high neurochemical arousal level. A high neurochemical arousal level means that your cat is in fight or flight. Dilated pupils also happen during play.