Where is shakshuka from?

Shakshuka is a popular Middle Eastern and North African dish that may date back all the way to the Ottoman Empire. You'll find it in Libya and Tunisia, and it's become a staple dish in Israel. If you've ever had Italian “eggs in purgatory” or Turkish menemen, the dishes are all quite similar.