How many times can you charge a car battery?

Car batteries will last between 500 to 1,000 charging cycles, or three to five years, depending on driving and weather conditions. A battery is recharged by your alternator every time you drive the car. If you’re recharging from dead flat, after four or five cycles, the battery should be replaced.