What is the purpose of phlegm?

Mucus or phlegm lines the moist surfaces of your body like the lungs, sinuses, mouth, stomach, and intestines. Even your eyes are coated with a thin layer of mucus. It serves as a lubricant to keep tissues from drying out. It's also a line of defense for the immune system.