Is tomato sauce the same as pizza sauce?

Tomato sauce’s main ingredient is always tomato. However, pizza sauce’s primary ingredient is not necessarily tomato, as it can also be pesto or cream, depending on the type of pizza. Tomato sauce is a multi-purpose sauce suitable for a variety of recipes. Pizza sauce, well... Pizza.