Why do they call wonder woman wonder woman?

The story lines vary. In the original story line, Princess Diana of Themyscira became Wonder Woman , Ambassador of Peace, after participating in a battle royale to determine who would get the role. In more recent story lines she was given the title “Wonder Woman” by her mother.