How many fish can fit in a fish tank?

In general, fish that can grow larger than 2 inches aren't recommended for 5-gallon tanks. They just won't have enough room to swim around and be happy. 5-gallon tanks are best suited for fish like micro rasboras, guppies, and betta fish. Avoid putting more than 1 betta fish, though.