Who invented paapad?

The history of papad dates back to 500 BC and finds mention in Buddist-Jain canonical literature as documented in the book ‘A Historical Dictionary of Indian Food’ by food historian and author KT Achaea. It mentions papads made using urad, masoor, and chana dai.