Where does the word hotdog come from?

As the legend goes, Tad Dorgan observed vendor Harry Stevens selling the "hot dachshund sausages" during a game at the New York Polo Grounds and shouting "Get your red-hot dachshund sausages!" Dorgan illustrated this scene with a dachshund dog nestled in a bun with the caption "get your hot dogs."