How do you substitute brown sugar for regular sugar?

Simply substitute 1 cup of brown sugar for every 1 cup of white granulated sugar. Brown sugar contains molasses, which may change the texture and flavor your baked goods, but the sweetness level will be the same. Checking doneness will be the same but the color may be darker.