What is the window pane test?

The window pane test is used to gauge bread dough's strength. Using a golf ball sized piece of dough, begin stretching it thinner, pulling from the middle. If it's elastic, and can be pulled into a translucent thickness without breaking, the dough is ready. Time to let it rise.