How is limburger cheese made?

Cheese makers prepare Limburger from pasteurized cow's milk. The exterior of the cheese is covered with a thin pale, orange-brown rind, an effect of regular washings. Once it reaches 3 months, the cheese produces its notorious smell because of the bacterium used to ferment Limburger cheese.