What creates the northern lights?

The Northern Lights are caused when solar disturbances shift Earth's magnetic field, causing ripples about 80,000 miles above the surface. Sometimes electrons get caught in these waves & hit the atmosphere, interacting with nitrogen & oxygen molecules & eventually creating light.