Why do people wear poppies on veterans day?

The poppy is a symbol of remembrance adopted by veterans groups such as the American Legion on Veterans Day. It was originally chosen because its bloom coincided with the Memorial Day holiday but in more recent years, paper and cloth fabrications of the poppy have been used.