Is rugby like soccer?

Rugby is much more similar to soccer than American football, because it is a continuous game. Rugby uses a ball in the shape of a prolate spheroid, inflated with air. However, unlike soccer, in rugby, it takes sheer power to drive the ball across the field through the opposing team.

---

No. But it has some similar traits to American football although even those are few and far between.