Where did the term nosy parker come from?

As it turns out, nobody really knows, though there are several dubious theories. The most often-heard suggestion is that the term is a reference to Matthew Parker, a 16th-century Archbishop of Canterbury who was known for poking his nose into the qualifications and activities of his clergy.