Who is the first person to circumnavigate the globe?

The Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan is often credited as being the first, though Juan Sebastian Elcano, a Basque mariner who took control of the expedition after Magellan’s death in 1521 and captained its lone surviving vessel (Victoria) on its journey back to Spain is also a candidate.