What is aluminum dioxide?

Aluminun dioxide is an amphoteric oxide found naturally in minerals such as bauxite and corundum, and is mostly used as a catalyst and an absorbent. The compound is largely used as an intermediate to produce construction materials, building materials, cosmetics, electric devices, glass paints etc.