What makes a cucumber taste bitter?

Cucumber plants that are stressed during growing season may produce fruit that is bitter flavored. Commonly a lack of water or temperatures too cold or too hot cause cucumbers to bear bitter tasting fruit. They also contain organic compounds called cucurbitacins that can cause them to taste bitter.