What is a rowan tree?

Rowans, also called mountain-ashes, are trees in the genus Sorbus of the rose family. They range in size from shrubs to up to 20 feet, have pinnated leaves, creamy white flowers and orange-red berry-like fruits that can be used for jams, jellies and alcoholic bevearages.